Colorado P&C Study Guide

Failed the Colorado P&C exam? There's a good chance it wasn't you.

The most common complaint from people who don't pass isn't the test — it's the study material. And the part they point to most? The state regulations: a few generic, watered-down national pages that looked nothing like the real Colorado exam. TESTivity is built the other way around. Below is a real chapter from the Colorado P&C manual — written for Colorado specifically, not national prep with a state name slapped on the cover. Read it and see the difference for yourself.

Colorado · Property & Casualty Sample chapter

Chapter 10.2.4 Colorado Insurance Regulations

Property and casualty is where Colorado’s regulatory personality is clearest: a light hand on rates, a heavy hand on claim conduct. Insurers price more or less freely, and then face precise clocks and real money if they handle a claim badly. This chapter covers the material that spans both lines — what happens when a carrier fails, who is watching the market, and what the state does to an insurer that pays late.

The guaranty association — a cap that moves with the calendar

The Colorado Insurance Guaranty Association pays covered claims when a property and casualty insurer is liquidated. Most summaries give you “$300,000” and stop. The statute gives you three tiers, and it keeps all three alive because older insolvencies are still being administered (§ 10-4-508(1)(a)(I)):

  • $50,000 — the baseline
  • $100,000 — for liquidation orders entered between July 1, 1988 and August 10, 2011
  • $300,000 — for liquidation orders entered on or after August 10, 2011

The tier is fixed by the date of the liquidation order, not the date of the loss or the date of the policy. An examiner who wants to separate the memorisers from the readers only has to put a 1995 liquidation date in the question.

One class of claim escapes the tiers entirely: workers’ compensation covered claims are paid in full, with no cap. But nothing escapes the outer limit — the association is “in no event” obligated beyond the face amount of the policy, however generous the tier.

Claims must be filed within twenty-four months of the liquidation order, or by the court’s deadline, whichever is earlier.

Who the fund will not pay

Three exclusions in § 10-4-503(4)(b) are worth knowing precisely.

A first-party claim by an insured whose net worth exceeds $10 million is not a covered claim. The policy behind it is straightforward: the fund exists for people who cannot absorb an insurer’s failure, and a company with that balance sheet can. Incurred but not reported losses are also excluded, as are claims by reinsurers, insurers and insurance pools seeking subrogation or contribution.

And note what Colorado’s act does not contain: a per-claim deductible. Many states follow the NAIC model with a $100 deduction from each covered claim. Read § 10-4-503(4) and § 10-4-508(1) in full and no deductible, minimum claim amount or threshold appears anywhere. Colorado simply omitted it.

There is, though, an aggregate ceiling that sits in its own section and is easy to miss. Under § 10-4-508.5(1)(a) the association’s obligation to any one insured and its affiliates ceases once $10,000,000 has been paid in the aggregate under the policies of any one insolvent insurer — except for workers’ compensation benefits, which are carved out once again.

Keep this fund and the life and health fund apart in your head. The $10 million net-worth test is this one’s — the Colorado Life and Health Insurance Protection Association has no net-worth exclusion at all.

The regulator

Colorado insurance runs through the Division of Insurance, which sits inside DORA, the Department of Regulatory Agencies, rather than standing alone. It is headed by a Commissioner of Insurance appointed by the Governor, subject to Senate confirmation and serving at the Governor’s pleasure — not elected. The statutes are in Title 10 of the Colorado Revised Statutes and the regulations at 3 CCR 702.

On rates the Division’s hand is deliberately light. Colorado regulates property and casualty by open competition — “Type II” — under § 10-4-401(3), which means insurers file and no prior approval is required. Only two kinds are enumerated in the prior-approval “Type I” tier: workers’ compensation pure premium rates filed by a rating organization, and assigned-risk motor vehicle insurance — though the Commissioner keeps a residual power to order other kinds into Type I. Note the precision on workers’ comp: a rating organization’s pure premium rates need approval, but an insurer’s own filed rates do not.

The claim clock — sixty days, then interest, then penalties

Here is where the light touch ends. Regulation 5-1-14 requires an insurer to pay, deny or settle a valid and complete first-party property or casualty claim within sixty days, absent a reasonable dispute — and it is the insurer, not the insured, who bears the burden of proving that a dispute is reasonable.

Two consequences follow, and they are routinely collapsed into one. The automatic remedy is 8% annual interest on the benefits owed (on claims of $100 or less, a penalty capped at $20 instead). On top of that the Commissioner may assess a discretionary civil penalty of $100.00 per day for each day beyond sixty. Separately, the reasonable-investigation rule requires the insurer to send the insured a letter every thirty days setting out why more time is needed.

One structural detail is worth noticing because it decides the arithmetic. Regulation 5-1-14 has no definitions section — its sections run Authority, Scope and Purpose, Applicability, Rules, Severability, Enforcement, Effective Date and History — and it nowhere qualifies its periods as business days. Some sibling regulations in the same series do define their terms. This one does not, so its sixty and thirty are calendar days.

Running alongside the regulation is a statutory remedy with much sharper teeth. Under §§ 10-3-1115 and 10-3-1116, an insurer must not “unreasonably delay or deny payment of a claim for benefits owed to or on behalf of any first-party claimant,” and a delay or denial is unreasonable if made “without a reasonable basis.” A claimant may then recover two times the covered benefit, plus reasonable attorney fees and court costs — and that is on top of the benefit itself under the contract. It is a penalty layered on the claim, not a cap on it.

Market conduct — what a producer may not do

Section 10-3-1104 lists the unfair methods of competition and deceptive acts. The producer-facing ones are: misrepresenting the benefits, advantages, conditions or terms of a policy; false or misleading advertising; defamation of another insurer; boycott, coercion or intimidation; offering securities as an inducement to buy insurance; rebating — any rebate of premium or other valuable consideration not specified in the contract; unfair claim settlement practices; and false statements on an application. Twisting, churning and unfair discrimination sit in the same list.

Keeping the licence — perpetual, on your birth month

Colorado issues a perpetual producer licence under § 10-2-408. It does not expire on a term; what keeps it alive is a continuation fee, $27 per line of authority, due by the last day of your birth month in the second year after issuance and every other year thereafter. The Commissioner notifies you ninety days ahead.

There is no late renewal. The online window closes at 10:00 p.m. Mountain Time on the expiration day. Miss it and you have one year to reinstate administratively; past that year, you must complete new pre-licensing education and re-examination — for a P&C producer, a hundred hours of coursework and two exams to recover from a missed $54 payment.

Continuing education is 24 hours every two years, including 3 hours of ethics and — because you hold property authority — 3 hours on homeowner’s insurance coverage. Both count inside the 24, so a P&C producer’s cycle is effectively three ethics, three homeowners and eighteen free. Up to 12 hours carry forward, but only hours earned in the 120 days before your continuation date.

One last structural point that surprises producers moving in from other states: Colorado requires no general producer appointments. There is nothing to file and no appointment fee. Section 10-2-416.5 instead requires each insurer to “maintain a current list of producers contractually authorized to accept applications on behalf of the insurer,” available to the Commissioner on request. The $95 appointment fee on the Division’s fee schedule is restricted on its face to bail industry companies.

Key terms so far

Tiered guaranty cap
$50,000 / $100,000 / $300,000, fixed by the date of the liquidation order.
$10 million net-worth exclusion
Bars a large insured’s first-party claim against the P&C fund — not the life and health fund.
Two times the covered benefit
The claimant’s remedy for unreasonable delay or denial, plus attorney fees (§ 10-3-1116).
Authorized producer list
Colorado’s substitute for appointments — the insurer keeps the list (§ 10-2-416.5).

The rest of the Colorado P&C system

Tap any tool to see how it works.