What the Indiana Personal Lines Credential Covers
Personal Lines is a line of authority on the Indiana producer license covering property and casualty coverages sold to individuals and families — personal auto, homeowners, renters, dwelling fire, personal umbrella, watercraft. What it does not cover is commercial: no commercial general liability, no business auto fleets, no workers' compensation, no commercial property.
Here is the structural fact that shapes the whole decision, and it is genuinely unusual. Indiana does not offer a standalone Property exam or a standalone Casualty exam. The August 2026 candidate handbook lists no such papers, and Indiana qualifies the two together rather than separately (IC 27-1-15.6-7(c)). So where a candidate in Alabama or Alaska could licence Property alone and add Casualty later, an Indiana candidate has exactly two routes into P&C: Personal Lines, or the combined Property & Casualty credential. There is no middle rung.
That makes the choice sharper than it looks. Personal Lines costs 20 pre-licensing hours and a 115-question exam; the full credential costs 40 hours and a 150-question exam — for the same $69 exam fee and the same $40 application. If you will ever write a small commercial account, a contractor's policy or a workers' comp quote, the combined route is the same money for twice the reach. The Property & Casualty guide makes that case from the other side.
For the 20-hour pre-licensing course Indiana requires, TESTivity recommends Achievable. The Achievable insurance courses were built by the same subject-matter expert behind TESTivity, so the two are designed to work together.
One important distinction: TESTivity is not an approved pre-licensing provider in Indiana and does not issue certificates of completion. The TESTivity learning tools and study packages will absolutely help you pass the exam — but treat them as a supplement to your Achievable course, not a substitute for it.
Disclosure: TESTivity has a partnership with Achievable and may earn a commission if you enroll through links on this page.
Exam Options & Format
The Indiana Personal Lines exam is 115 scored questions plus 5 unscored pretest items — 120 on screen — in 120 minutes, for $69. That is a minute per question with nothing spare, and it is the tightest time-per-item ratio of any Indiana producer exam.
The passing standard is a raw 70% — "candidates need to achieve 70% to pass the IDOI exams," with no scaled-score language anywhere in the handbook. On 115 scored items that is about 81 correct. The 5 pretest questions are unscored and unmarked, so all 120 get answered.
The alternative is the Property & Casualty exam: 150 scored plus 10 pretest — 160 on screen — in 180 minutes, also $69. A Spanish-language version of both exams is offered at identical length, time and fee. Education-waiver holders sit the Property & Casualty Laws & Regulations paper instead — 40 questions, 60 minutes, $50 — covered in the Life guide.
No online proctoring. Indiana is absent from Pearson VUE's OnVUE program list and the current handbook never mentions remote delivery; every attempt is at a test center, including the Ivy Tech sites the Health guide covers. Reserve at least 24 hours ahead, and call (866) 895-0496 at least 48 hours out to move or cancel — the fee is non-refundable and non-transferable otherwise.
Most Tested Topics on the Indiana Personal Lines Exam
Personal Lines questions concentrate on two bodies of Indiana law that national material handles only generically: the cancellation and nonrenewal rules, which Indiana writes separately for auto and for homeowners, and the personal auto framework, which is tort-based with no PIP at all. Each row is anchored in the Indiana Code:
| Concept | The Indiana rule |
|---|---|
| Initial cancellation window, auto | 60 days — after 60 days in force, the insurer may cancel only for enumerated reasons (IC 27-7-6-4) |
| Cancellation notice, auto | 20 days' advance notice for a permitted cause (IC 27-7-6-5(a)) |
| Cancellation notice, homeowners | 20 days' notice once in force more than 60 days; 10 days inside the first 60 (IC 27-7-12-3) |
| Nonpayment of premium | 10 days' notice — auto and homeowners alike (IC 27-7-6-5; IC 27-7-12-3) |
| Nonrenewal notice | 20 days' advance notice, auto and homeowners (IC 27-7-6-6; IC 27-7-12-4) |
| Must the reason be given? | Only on the insured's WRITTEN REQUEST — it need not appear in the notice itself (IC 27-7-6-9; IC 27-7-12-4) |
| Auto financial responsibility limits | 25/50/25 — $25,000 per person, $50,000 per occurrence, $25,000 property damage (IC 9-25-4-5) |
| Fault system | Tort — Indiana has no no-fault system and no mandatory PIP; medical payments coverage is optional |
| Uninsured motorist | Must be OFFERED at limits equal to the bodily injury limits; rejectable in writing (IC 27-7-5-2) |
| Underinsured motorist | Offered alongside UM, rejectable in writing, with a statutory minimum of $50,000 (IC 27-7-5-2) |
| Credit information | Permitted but never the sole basis for denial, cancellation, nonrenewal or renewal rate; income, gender, ZIP code, ethnicity, religion and marital status are barred; the report must be no more than 90 days old (IC 27-2-21-16) |
The notice ladder is the highest-yield block on this exam, and the trap is that Indiana uses the same numbers for different triggers. Ten days is nonpayment — always, both policy types. Twenty days is everything else: cause-based cancellation and nonrenewal, auto and homeowners. Sixty days is not a notice period at all but the freeze point, after which an auto insurer loses its broad cancellation right and is confined to enumerated reasons. Homeowners then adds the wrinkle that inside that first 60 days the notice drops to ten. An item that hands you a homeowners policy cancelled on day 45 is checking whether you reached for 20 out of habit.
The second dependable point is the one about reasons, and it runs against candidates' instincts. Indiana does not require the insurer to state its reason in the cancellation or nonrenewal notice. The reason is furnished on the insured's written request. Many states require it proactively, and national material teaches that; Indiana puts the burden on the insured to ask. Pair it with the credit-information rule, which works the same way — permitted, but hedged: never the sole basis, never using income or ZIP or marital status, and never from a report older than 90 days. Both rules are about how an insurer must behave rather than whether it may act, which is exactly the distinction exam writers use to build a plausible wrong answer.
Your Score Report, and What Happens If You Miss
Indiana gives you the answer before you leave the building. The handbook: "The examination will end automatically when the examination time has expired, and candidates will leave the test center with their official score report in hand." There is no results email, no overnight wait, no portal to refresh.
What the score means, precisely. Indiana's standard is a raw 70% of the scored questions — the handbook states "candidates need to achieve 70% to pass the IDOI exams" and uses no scaled-score language at all: no conversion to a 0–100 scale, no equating discussion, no "scaled score of 70." That is genuinely worth knowing, because candidates routinely assume a hidden scale and misjudge how close they were. On Personal Lines, 70% of 115 scored items is about 81 correct. The 5 pretest items are unscored, so a rough count of what you got right on screen is a fair estimate of where you landed.
If you fail, the rule is 48 hours. "Candidates must wait forty-eight (48) hours before retaking an examination." And there the handbook stops — Indiana sets no cap on attempts. There is no three-strikes rule, no requirement to repeat education after a set number of failures, no lifetime limit. What there is instead is money: the fee is non-refundable and non-transferable, so every attempt is another full $69.
What the handbook does not promise. It does not describe a diagnostic sub-score breakdown for candidates who fail, so do not plan your retake around one arriving. Assume the report tells you pass or fail and little more, and build your review from the Pearson VUE Indiana content outlines (#121501) instead — that document is the exam's actual blueprint, and it is free.
The deadline that matters is not a score-expiry date. This is the single most mis-stated Indiana fact, so here is what is actually published: neither the handbook nor IDOI states how long a passing score remains valid on its own. What IDOI does state is that the pre-licensing certificate "is valid for six months. You must pass your exam and apply for your license during this six-month period." So the operative clock is the certificate's, and the sensible planning rule follows from it — pass early enough that a 48-hour retake and the 7–10 business day application review still fit inside the six months. If your situation turns on the question (a waiver holder with no certificate, for instance), call IDOI Producer Licensing at (317) 232-2389 rather than trusting a number from a prep site.
Retake strategy, given no attempt cap and a hard certificate deadline. Do the arithmetic rather than the instinct. The six-month certificate has to absorb your course completion date, every attempt, and the 7–10 business day application review at the end — so a candidate who first sits in month four has perhaps six weeks of usable slack, not six months. Re-sit inside a week while the material is fresh, using the free content outline (#121501) to target whatever section felt thin, and treat a month of "studying properly" as spending a quarter of the remaining window.
How Indiana Vets You — Without Taking a Single Fingerprint
Indiana does not fingerprint resident insurance producers. There is no livescan vendor, no IdentoGO or Fieldprint appointment, no ORI, no service code and no print fee — and unlike most states, no step in the sequence between passing your exam and filing your application. The order is simply course → exam → application.
That is not a loophole, and it is worth being precise about what it means rather than what it sounds like. Indiana still vets applicants — it just does it through the background questions on the application rather than through biometrics. Those questions therefore carry weight that their equivalents in a livescan state do not: in Florida or Kansas the disclosure is cross-checked against an FBI return, whereas in Indiana your answers are the primary record. Answer them as though a regulator will read them closely, because that is exactly the process.
What a "yes" requires. NIPR's instruction on the Indiana resident application is direct: "If applicant responds 'yes' to one of the background questions please submit supporting documents electronically." Electronically, with the application — not later, not on request. In practice that means the certified court disposition for any criminal matter, the administrative order for any prior regulatory action, and a signed letter of explanation in your own words setting out what happened, when, and what has changed since.
What tends to trigger disclosure. Criminal charges and convictions (including matters that were expunged, deferred or resolved without a conviction — read each question's wording rather than assuming), prior administrative actions by any insurance department or financial regulator, licence denials, suspensions or revocations in any state or profession, unsatisfied judgments, bankruptcies, and unpaid child support or tax obligations. The questions on the NAIC Uniform Application are broader than most applicants expect, and "it was dismissed" is very often still a yes. Answer them wider than feels necessary: in a fingerprint state an omission is caught by the FBI return and treated as an error, whereas in Indiana there is no return to catch it — so IDOI reads a gap discovered later as a choice, and the 30-day deficiency clock below leaves little room to correct one.
Non-disclosure is the failure mode, not the record itself. A dated criminal matter with a candid explanation is a normal file. The same matter left undisclosed is two problems — the original conduct, plus a misrepresentation on a licensing application, which is independently actionable and reads as a candour failure. Since Indiana's review leans on your answers rather than on a fingerprint return, an omission looks less like an oversight and more like a choice.
Then watch the clock. IDOI closes incomplete files quickly: "Application submissions still incomplete after 30 days from the submission date will be closed for deficiency." If a disclosure needs a document you have to request from a court, order it before you file, not after IDOI asks — thirty days is not long to obtain a certified disposition. A clean file processes in 7–10 business days; a file closed for deficiency starts over, and the six-month certificate window keeps running throughout. The Life guide covers the application itself step by step.
What It Costs
$69 to Pearson VUE for the Personal Lines exam, $40 to IDOI at application, plus the Sircon or NIPR processing fee — about $109, and nothing at all for fingerprints, because Indiana does not take them. Both fees are nonrefundable and nontransferable, and each retake is a fresh $69 after the 48-hour wait.
The comparison that matters is with the credential above this one. The combined Property & Casualty route costs exactly the same $69 exam and $40 application — the entire difference is 40 pre-licensing hours instead of 20. So the money question is really a course question, and upgrading later is not free: adding a line means another $40 amendment fee, another course and another exam.
Renewal is $40 every two years. Miss it and the ladder is steep — $120 penalty inside twelve months and no reinstatement at all past twelve, which the Property & Casualty guide sets out in full.
Eligibility Requirements
You must be at least 18 (IC 27-1-15.6-6), maintain a valid business email address, and hold your principal residence or place of business in Indiana for a resident licence. Complete the 20 hours of approved Personal Lines pre-licensing, then pass the exam and file the application inside the certificate's six-month window. The Life & Health guide covers the pre-licensing rules in detail.
If you hold CPCU, CIC, AAI or a bachelor's degree in insurance, IC 27-1-15.6-9 waives the course — but not the testing: you sit the 40-question Property & Casualty Laws & Regulations exam instead. The Life guide covers the waiver list and its limits.
There is no fingerprinting and no separate criminal-history submission; the background questions above are the whole process. Where an existing book needs servicing, IDOI may, at its discretion, issue a temporary producer licence for up to 180 days under IC 27-1-15.6-11 — a continuity-of-service provision, not a route around a pending application. The Health guide covers the standard and its limits.
Keeping Your Indiana Personal Lines License Active
Important CE details: 24 hours per two-year cycle, renewing on the last day of your birth month for $40. Up to 12 hours carry into the next cycle. Note that IDOI ties the 3-hour ethics requirement to Accident & Health and/or Life licensure — it is not stated as a requirement for a Personal Lines producer. Indiana has NO flood training mandate, despite what several national sites claim.
Two years, expiring on the last day of your birth month, renewed for $40 through Sircon or NIPR, with an invoice emailed roughly 90 days ahead — and no excuse if it does not arrive. The requirement is 24 hours of Indiana-approved CE, with up to 12 hours carrying into the next cycle.
On the ethics hours, read IDOI's wording carefully. IDOI states the requirement as "24 (3 of which must be an Ethics course if Accident & Health and/or Life licensed; 7 of which must be a Title course if Title licensed)." The 3-hour ethics obligation is therefore written as conditional on Life and/or Accident & Health licensure — it is not stated as a universal all-lines requirement, and a Personal Lines producer is not shown owing it. Plenty of national sites report the 3 hours as universal; Indiana's own page does not. If you also hold a Life or health line, the hours apply to you through that line.
And a correction worth making explicitly, because this site previously carried the error and most competitors still do: Indiana has no flood training requirement. There is no one-time 3-hour NFIP course mandated for Indiana P&C or Personal Lines producers. The only flood item IDOI published was a voluntary FEMA training in September 2025, and IDOI stated plainly that "the training will not be for CE credits, but a certificate of completion will be provided." If a provider is selling you an "Indiana required flood course," they are selling you something Indiana does not require.
Miss the deadline and reinstatement runs $40 renewal plus a $120 penalty inside twelve months — with the Laws & Regulations Assessment added if CE was outstanding at expiration — and nothing at all past twelve months, at which point you repeat pre-licensing and the full exam. The Property & Casualty guide covers renewal and reinstatement end to end.
Quick Reference
Official Links
Don't study generic. Study Indiana.
You've got the roadmap. Now get the Indiana-specific Personal Lines question bank, mock exams, and video course built by instructors with 20+ years teaching this material.