Indiana Insurance Exam Guide

Indiana P&C Insurance Exam 2026

The combined Property & Casualty credential is Indiana's full commercial licence, and it is the only route to one: Indiana offers no standalone Property exam and no standalone Casualty exam, qualifying the two together under IC 27-1-15.6-7(c). Forty pre-licensing hours and a 150-question exam buy you both lines for the same $69 and $40 that Personal Lines costs. This guide owns the two subjects that decide whether the licence stays yours: moving a licence in or out of Indiana, where the non-resident fee is retaliatory and has no fixed number — and renewal, where Indiana runs one of the least forgiving reinstatement ladders in the country, with a hard twelve-month cliff after which nothing can be reinstated at all.

Last verified August 2026 •IDOI

70%
to pass
Passing Score
150
questions
Exam Length
40
hours
Pre-Licensing
Pearson VUE
administers
Exam Provider

What the Indiana Property & Casualty Credential Covers

This credential puts Property and Casualty on your Indiana producer licence together — personal and commercial property, general liability, commercial auto, workers' compensation, inland marine, and the specialty coverages that sit around them. It is the broadest producer credential Indiana issues short of adding life and health.

Indiana qualifies Property and Casualty as a pair, not separately. A resident may not hold one without the other: the two are qualified together under IC 27-1-15.6-7(c), and the August 2026 candidate handbook accordingly lists no standalone Property exam and no standalone Casualty exam. The only narrower option is Personal Lines, which drops commercial entirely. That is a genuine structural difference from states like Alabama or Alaska, where a candidate can licence Property alone and add Casualty later, and it is why Indiana's P&C decision is binary.

The regulator is the Indiana Department of Insurance (IDOI), headed by a Commissioner appointed by the Governor and serving at the Governor's pleasure — appointed, not elected, which is worth filing because several neighbouring states elect theirs. The law lives in Title 27 of the Indiana Code, the rules in Title 760 of the Indiana Administrative Code.

One credential sits above this one rather than beside it. Surplus lines requires an active Indiana P&C producer licence plus a separate Surplus Lines credential (IC 27-1-15.8), with its own 55-question, $50 exam and an $80 application — and a diligent-effort search of the admitted market before a risk may be placed with a non-admitted insurer.

For the 40-hour pre-licensing course Indiana requires, TESTivity recommends Achievable. The Achievable insurance courses were built by the same subject-matter expert behind TESTivity, so the two are designed to work together.

One important distinction: TESTivity is not an approved pre-licensing provider in Indiana and does not issue certificates of completion. The TESTivity learning tools and study packages will absolutely help you pass the exam — but treat them as a supplement to your Achievable course, not a substitute for it.

Disclosure: TESTivity has a partnership with Achievable and may earn a commission if you enroll through links on this page.

Exam Options & Format

ExamQuestionsTime
Property & Casualty combined — this license, and Indiana's only full P&C exam 150 scored + 10 unscored pretest (160 on screen) 3 hr
Personal Lines — the narrower alternative 115 scored + 5 unscored pretest (120 on screen) 2 hr
Property & Casualty Laws & Regulations — for education-waiver holders and some reinstatements only 40 1 hr
Surplus Lines — a separate credential on top of an active P&C licence 55 1 hr

The Indiana Property & Casualty exam is 150 scored questions plus 10 unscored pretest items — 160 on screen — in 180 minutes, for $69. It shares its shape with the Life & Health exam and is the longest sitting Indiana offers.

The passing standard is a raw 70%: the handbook says "candidates need to achieve 70% to pass the IDOI exams" and never mentions scaling or score conversion. On 150 scored items that is about 105 correct, with the 10 pretest questions unscored and unmarked.

The alternative is Personal Lines — 115 scored + 5 pretest in 120 minutes, also $69, and half the course hours. Spanish-language versions of both are offered at identical length, time and fee. Education-waiver holders (CPCU, CIC, AAI or a bachelor's in insurance under IC 27-1-15.6-9) sit the Property & Casualty Laws & Regulations paper instead — 40 questions, 60 minutes, $50 — which the Life guide explains in full.

No online proctoring. Indiana does not appear on Pearson VUE's OnVUE program list and the current handbook never mentions remote delivery. All testing is in person, at Pearson centers and Ivy Tech Community College sites; the Health guide covers the network, and the Life & Health guide covers exam-day check-in and the prohibited-items list.

If surplus lines is in your future, note the separate paper: Surplus Lines, 55 questions, 60 minutes, $50, sat after — not instead of — the P&C exam.

i
There is no cheaper way into commercial
Personal Lines and full P&C cost the same $69 exam and the same $40 application. The entire difference is 40 pre-licensing hours against 20. If a small commercial account is even plausible in your first two years, the combined credential is the same money for twice the reach — and adding a line later means another $40 amendment fee, another course and another exam.

Most Tested Topics on the Indiana Property & Casualty Exam

The commercial half of this exam is where Indiana's own machinery shows up hardest — the guaranty association, the Comparative Fault Act, the workers' compensation system and the residual market. Each row is anchored in the Indiana Code:

ConceptThe Indiana rule
P&C safety netIndiana Insurance Guaranty Association (IC 27-6-8)
Per-claim cap$300,000 per covered claim — all claims from the bodily injury or death of one person count as a single claim (IC 27-6-8-7(a))
The workers' comp exceptionWorkers' compensation claims are paid IN FULL — the $300,000 cap does not apply to them
Guaranty limits, furtherNo per-claim dollar deductible; high-net-worth insureds are excluded; a claim never exceeds the policy limit
Negligence ruleModified comparative fault, 51% bar — a claimant whose fault is greater than everyone else's combined recovers nothing (IC 34-51-2-6)
The exception to itThe Comparative Fault Act does NOT apply to claims against governmental entities, which remain governed by contributory negligence
Workers' comp thresholdOne or more employees — mandatory for essentially all employers (IC 22-3-2-5)
Workers' comp administratorThe Worker's Compensation Board of Indiana (IC 22-3-1)
Temporary total disability66⅔% of the average weekly wage, up to 500 weeks; the maximum weekly benefit is reset annually by statute (IC 22-3-3-8; IC 22-3-3-22)
Workers' comp deadlinesNotice to the employer within 30 days; claim filed within 2 years of the accident or last compensation payment (IC 22-3-3-1; IC 22-3-3-3)
Rate regulationFile-and-use competitive rating for personal lines; use-and-file for commercial. Rates must not be excessive, inadequate or unfairly discriminatory (IC 27-1-22-4)
Residual marketIndiana Basic Property Insurance Underwriting Association — the FAIR Plan, insurer of last resort (IC 27-1-29.1)
Surplus lines prerequisiteAn active P&C producer licence plus a separate Surplus Lines credential, after a diligent effort in the admitted market (IC 27-1-15.8)
Dominant catastrophe perilsTornado and severe thunderstorm — hail and straight-line wind — plus river and flash flooding and winter storms

The two exceptions in this table are worth more marks than the rules they sit inside. First, the guaranty cap: candidates learn "$300,000 per claim" and stop, and Indiana then asks about a failed workers' compensation carrier — where claims are paid in full, with no cap at all. Second, and more subtly, the governmental-entity carve-out from comparative fault. Indiana adopted modified comparative fault with a 51% bar for ordinary claims, but the Comparative Fault Act expressly does not reach claims against governmental entities, which remain contributory — meaning a claimant even 1% at fault recovers nothing from a city or a state agency. A question that puts a municipality on one side of a collision is testing exactly that, and the intuitive comparative-fault answer is wrong.

The workers' compensation cluster is the second reliable block, and it rewards precision about which clock. Notice to the employer is 30 days; filing the claim is two years. Those are different deadlines with different consequences, and items routinely offer one where the other belongs. On the benefit side, learn 66⅔% up to 500 weeks as the structure and treat the maximum weekly dollar figure as a moving target — Indiana resets it annually by statute, so any specific dollar amount you memorise has a shelf life. Finally, keep the rate-regulation split filed carefully: Indiana is file-and-use for personal lines but use-and-file for commercial, which is a distinction most national material collapses into a single label.

Moving a License Into — or Out Of — Indiana

If you already hold a resident producer licence in another state, Indiana is one of the easier states to add. IDOI's non-resident page is unambiguous: "No pre-licensing study course or examination is required." No 40 hours, no 150-question exam, no certificate window. What Indiana asks instead is that your home state return the favour — a non-resident licence issues "if the non-resident is from a state that grants non-resident license on a reciprocal basis."

What you get is a mirror, not a new licence. IDOI: "A non-resident license will grant the same scope of authority as granted by the producer's home state." Indiana copies your home-state lines of authority rather than re-deriving them, which has a consequence worth planning for: you cannot use an Indiana non-resident licence to acquire a line you do not hold at home. If you hold Property & Casualty in Ohio but not Life, an Indiana non-resident licence will not carry Life. Widen at home first, and the Indiana licence follows.

The fee is the part nobody can quote you, and anyone who does is guessing. Indiana applies retaliatory fees to non-resident applicants — IDOI issued a "Non-Resident Retaliatory Fee Updates" notice effective 1 December 2024 — which means your fee is set by reference to what your home state charges an Indiana resident, not by a fixed Indiana schedule. There is therefore no single correct number to publish. Pull the live figure from NIPR's fee lookup at the moment you apply. The one non-resident fee IDOI does publish flatly is the non-resident Title agent licence at $90.

How to file. Sircon (sircon.com/Indiana), NIPR (nipr.com), or the NAIC Uniform Non-Resident Application on paper. The same background questions apply, with supporting documents for any "yes" — the Personal Lines guide covers that review — and, as for residents, there is no fingerprinting.

On continuing education for non-residents, we will not guess. Under the standard NAIC reciprocity framework a non-resident's CE is satisfied through the home state — but IDOI does not say so on its non-resident page, and we are not going to put words in the Department's mouth. Confirm your position with IDOI at (317) 232-2389 before you rely on it — particularly if your home state's cycle is shorter than Indiana's two years.

Moving the other way — becoming an Indiana resident. If you relocate into Indiana holding an out-of-state resident licence, you are converting a non-resident relationship into a resident one, and IDOI maintains a dedicated page for it: Transferring Resident License from One State to Another. Do this promptly rather than at renewal; a resident licence in a state where you no longer reside is the kind of housekeeping failure that surfaces at the worst moment, and your former home state's licence generally has to be surrendered or converted as part of the move.

!
Do not budget a non-resident fee from a website
Indiana's non-resident producer fee is retaliatory and varies by your home state — there is no single figure, and any site quoting one flat number for Indiana is wrong for most applicants. Check NIPR's live fee lookup at the point of application. The $40 you see quoted everywhere is the RESIDENT fee.

Renewal, CE Math, and Indiana's Twelve-Month Cliff

The cycle. An Indiana producer licence issued or renewed after July 1, 2011 runs two years and expires on the last day of the licensee's birth month — not on a fixed statewide date and not on your birthday itself. Renewal is $40 through Sircon, NIPR, or paper and cheque. IDOI emails a renewal invoice roughly 90 days ahead, with a warning worth taking literally: "If for some reason you do not receive a renewal invoice, it is still your responsibility to renew your license."

The CE math. 24 hours of Indiana-approved CE per two-year cycle. Up to 12 hours — exactly half — carry into the next cycle, but ethics and long-term care hours never carry. Holding several lines does not multiply the requirement: 24 is the total. On the ethics hours specifically, IDOI writes the rule as "24 (3 of which must be an Ethics course if Accident & Health and/or Life licensed; 7 of which must be a Title course if Title licensed)" — conditional on those lines, which is why a P&C-only producer is not shown owing the three hours. Many national sites report them as universal; Indiana's own page does not.

And to correct something this site previously published: Indiana has no flood training requirement. There is no mandatory one-time NFIP course for Indiana P&C producers. IDOI's only published flood item was a voluntary FEMA training in September 2025, of which IDOI said: "the training will not be for CE credits, but a certificate of completion will be provided."

Reinstatement inside twelve months — two tiers. If your CE was complete before expiration, you pay "renewal fee and reinstatement penalty fee of three (3) times the license renewal fee. The license renewal fee for resident producers is $40 and the reinstatement penalty is $120, for a total of $160." If your CE was not complete, IDOI adds two requirements before it will look at the money: "complete the outstanding CE required for the license" and "pass the Laws & Regulations Assessment for a line of authority on the license." Read that second one twice — an expired licence with outstanding CE puts you back in a test center, sitting the 40-question P&C Laws & Regulations exam at $50 on top of the $160.

Past twelve months, there is nothing to negotiate. IDOI's language is absolute: "An individual producer who allows their license to expire and seeks to reinstate the license more than twelve (12) months after the expiration date will not be able to have the license reinstated." Such a person "must complete all initial/new resident license application requirements again" — the full 40 hours of pre-licensing, the full 150-question exam, a fresh six-month certificate window and a new $40 application. There is no long-tail grace period, no hardship route, and no partial credit for the years you held the licence. Indiana runs one of the hardest cliffs in the country here, and it is why the birth-month date belongs in a calendar with a reminder on it, not in your memory.

Other Indiana cycles, for context, since producers often hold more than one credential: Navigator licences renew annually (with 2 CE hours per year); a Bail Agent licence expires "on last day of month of license issuance"; and a Public Adjuster licence expires December 31 each year, with renewals opening 90 days prior under IC 27-1-27. Only the producer licence uses the birth-month rule.

!
Outstanding CE turns a late renewal into a re-exam
Inside twelve months with CE done: $160 and you are back. Inside twelve months with CE outstanding: finish the CE, PASS the Laws & Regulations Assessment, and then pay. Past twelve months: IDOI cannot reinstate at all — 40 hours of pre-licensing and the full 150-question exam, from scratch.

What It Costs

State Exam $69 per attempt, paid to Pearson VUE at reservation ($50 for the Surplus Lines exam)
Fingerprinting Not required — Indiana does not fingerprint resident producers
Application $40 to IDOI through Sircon or NIPR, plus the portal's own processing fee ($80 for a resident Surplus Lines licence)
Prelicensing 40-hour IDOI-approved Personal & Commercial Property & Casualty course — TESTivity recommends Achievable
Total: About $109 in exam and state fees on a first-time pass — $69 to Pearson VUE plus $40 to IDOI — plus the portal processing fee and nothing for fingerprints, which Indiana does not take. Identical to the Personal Lines total, for a far broader licence; the only real difference is 40 course hours instead of 20. Renewal is $40 every two years, and a missed renewal costs $120 more than that.

$69 to Pearson VUE for the P&C exam, $40 to IDOI at application, plus the Sircon or NIPR processing fee — about $109, with no fingerprint cost, because Indiana takes no prints from resident producers. Identical to the Personal Lines total, for a much broader licence; the difference is entirely in the 40 course hours.

Adding surplus lines is its own line item: a $50 exam and an $80 resident Surplus Lines application, on top of the active P&C licence it presupposes. Adding any other line later is a $40 amendment fee plus that line's course and exam.

The costs that bite are the avoidable ones. Renewal is $40; a late renewal inside twelve months is $160, and $210 if outstanding CE forces the $50 Laws & Regulations Assessment as well. Past twelve months the cost is the whole thing again — a 40-hour course plus $69 plus $40. Every fee here is nonrefundable and nontransferable, and every exam retake is another full $69 after the 48-hour wait. Non-resident applicants: see the reciprocity section — your fee is retaliatory and has no fixed figure.

Eligibility Requirements

You must be at least 18 (IC 27-1-15.6-6), maintain a valid business email address, and hold your principal residence or place of business in Indiana for a resident credential. Complete the 40 hours of approved Personal & Commercial Property & Casualty pre-licensing — or hold CPCU, CIC, AAI or a bachelor's degree in insurance, which waives the course under IC 27-1-15.6-9 and substitutes the 40-question Laws & Regulations exam. The Life guide covers the waiver list; the Life & Health guide covers the pre-licensing rules and the six-month certificate.

No fingerprints, no separate criminal-history submission. Indiana assesses character from the background questions on the application, with supporting documents attached electronically to any "yes" — the Personal Lines guide covers that review in detail.

Non-residents skip both the course and the exam, subject to reciprocity and to a retaliatory fee — see the reciprocity section above. And if you need to keep a book serviced while a file is pending, IDOI may issue a temporary producer licence for up to 180 days at its discretion under IC 27-1-15.6-11, which the Health guide covers.

Your CE Requirement at a Glance

Important CE details: 24 hours per two-year cycle, renewing on the last day of your birth month for $40, with up to 12 hours of carryover. IDOI writes the 3-hour ethics requirement as conditional on Accident & Health and/or Life licensure, so it is not stated to apply to a P&C-only producer. Indiana has NO flood training mandate — the prior version of this guide claimed a 3-hour NFIP requirement that does not exist.

24 hours per two-year cycle, tracked on Sircon, due by the last day of your birth month. Up to 12 hours carry into the next cycle; ethics and long-term care hours never carry. For a P&C-only producer, IDOI does not state the 3-hour ethics course as a requirement — it writes those hours as conditional on Accident & Health and/or Life licensure. If you add either line, the ethics hours come with it.

No Indiana flood mandate, despite what most national sites say. No annuity or LTC training applies unless you add a Life or Accident & Health line, at which point the Life and Health guides cover the 4-hour annuity best-interest course and the 8-hour long-term care gate respectively.

Check your transcript on sircon.com/Indiana rather than trusting a provider's confirmation email, and finish well before the last week of your birth month — because the consequence of coming up short is not a fine but the reinstatement ladder above, where outstanding CE at expiration sends you back to a test center.

See where you stand — free
Take a free Indiana P&C practice exam with real-format questions.
Start Free →

Quick Reference

Lines of AuthorityProperty + Casualty (qualified together)
ExamProperty & Casualty — 150 scored + 10 pretest, 3 hr
Exam Fee$69 per attempt (Pearson VUE)
Passing Score70% raw — about 105 of 150
Pre-Licensing40 hours (required) — via Achievable
Standalone Property/CasualtyNot offered — Personal Lines is the only narrower route
FingerprintingNot required — none in Indiana
Application Fee$40 resident via Sircon or NIPR
Non-Resident FeeRetaliatory — varies by home state, check NIPR
Continuing Education24 hrs / 2 yrs; 12-hour carryover
Renewal$40, biennial, last day of birth month
Late Reinstatement$160 inside 12 months — plus a re-exam if CE is outstanding
Hard Cliff12 months — past it, no reinstatement at all
Pass on the first try

Don't study generic. Study Indiana.

You've got the roadmap. Now get the Indiana-specific P&C question bank, mock exams, and video course built by instructors with 20+ years teaching this material.

The rest of the Indiana P&C system

Tap any tool to see how it works.